top of page
  • lrs1804

Alessi

Alessi were the first design influence I remember, many people have differing opinions of the brand and its products and sometimes I question how sustainable their practices are and philosophy is. But still I love the shiny surfaces, child-like designs that make you smile and industrial aesthetic. So, let's discuss.



Founded in the 1921 in Italy by Giovanni Alessi and his brother and named Fratelli Alessi Omegna, FAO. The company started making objects for the home out of materials such as copper, brass, nickel and silver which were coated with nickel, chrome or silver. They gained a reputation for the high standard of craftsmanship their pieces had. Fast forward to post war Italy and the company reimagined itself with the purpose of making product on an industrial scale, moving away from soft metals and into stainless steel which is a big part off their aesthetic to this day. In the 50s the company was renamed ALFRA and they focused on making products for hotels and restaurants before moving into the homeware market in the 60s with great success. Then in the 70s they began to grow with more well loved well designed objects and gained further success when they involved many independent designers in the process including famous names such as Ettore Sottsass of the Memphis movement, Richard Sapper, Achille Castiglioni and Alessandro Mendini who all helped build Alessia's reputation as a Factory of Design. Since then they have continued to work with the greatest designers of each decade to produce instantly recognisable products. SO here are a few ones that have stuck out to me.


  1. The Juicy Saifi by Phillippe Starck



Starting with a bit of a controversial one. I'm not offended by this one but I understand why people are. I've never used one but all of the stories I have heard say it's a mess to use or doesn't work. And for that I think it is an immediate no from me, I would probably have a Hay or Braun juicer instead if I wanted one. I appreciate the idea behind it and can see it's really designed just to look pretty . Not my favourite example of the entertaining element of Alessi, in this case it feels a bit novel.


2. The 9093 and 3909 Kettle by Michael Graves and Virgil Abloh



This one is a banger. A perfect example of industrial design meeting happy, fun and amusing design. This is Alessi for me, I actually own the kettle on the left which was a gift from my parents for my birthday and I feel very lucky to do so. Stainless steel for immediate functionality and then embellished with simple shapes and figures as well as colourful plastic parts to make it more entertaining to look at and use. For me the best kettle of all time and the best thing Alessi has done. Another thing to note here about Alessi is how readily available spare parts are through the warranty, this kettle could last you a lifetime and some if you treat it right.


3. Percolators by multiple designers



Can you see a pattern emerging with all of these products, the stainless steel finish is what Alessi have been pros at for decades and all of these coffee makers wear it well. Another example showing hoe many different ways a coffee maker can look and giving designers a platform to take their own spin on the classic Moka pot. I really like all of these but I've got to say my favourite is La Monica which I mentioned in the Moka pot post. Designed by Aldo Rossi it's another classic from the brand that to me looks like a a train whistle from an old steam train. All koi these are ways to make your morning coffee routine a bit more fun and enjoyable.


4. Anna G Corkscrew by Alessandro Mendini



This one is another famous one I'm not actually a fan of. For me an example where the fun design has gone a bit too far and for my taste is a bit too daft. Also, It's kind of creepy.looking, the expression reminds me of old opera masks.


5. Pepper grinder and salt shaker



Finally another example of the classic shiny steel and some whimsical touch points that make the product fun to look at and use. This is one I'd love to have at some point too.


6. Occasional Object Cutlery by Virgil ABloh



As part of the brands 100 year anniversary they commissioned designer Virgil Abloh to design an interesting set of cutlery that combines occasion table wear with a utilitarian design to give portable set of cutlery made from steel. I love the look of these and the idea is something I wanted to explore in retail therapy but ended up going down a different route in the end,. The price of €550 means that unfortunately owning a set is off the cars but nice to look at in pictures and a cool concept.


For all of these products I can see some people not liking any due to the unusual add ons that may seem a bit over the top or daft like the examples that aren't my thing. I suppose there is a point that each individual draws the line between fun and silly.


Alessi don't have any mention of sustainability in their collection and continue to get different designers to make more and more of the same objects. Which for me can encourage mass consumption and of course comes with mass production. Of course this is the same with all designer brands in consumer goods and fashion. The thing with brands like this I suppose is the idea that the products are cherished and you develop an attachment to them hopefully so won't throw them out and hopefully will take good care of them.


I think Alessi is still a brand rooted in the Apple mass production model and need to realign their meals with industrial designers of the new sustainable age to continue to be successful.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page